|Law Offices of
Stephanie Lee Ehrbright, Esq.
|Free Legal Review
Fill out the form below and
submit it for a free legal
review of your case.
|Call 623-738-LAW1 now
for a free legal consultation
Content below is for informational purposes and should not be considered legal advice.
In Arizona there are 3 different classes of Misdemeanors. A Class 3 Misdemeanor
is the lowest and is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine ($2,000 if
an enterprise). A Class 2 Misdemeanor is punishable by up to 4 months in jail
and a $750 fine ($10,000 if an enterprise). A Class 1 Misdemeanor is the most
serious and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $2,500 fine ($20,000 if an
Misdemeanor crimes are usually charged by either a Municipal (i.e. “City”) Court
or a County Justice Court. There are many different combinations of
punishments within the above constraints that a Judge might impose when a
Defendant is convicted of a Misdemeanor in Arizona. For instance, Ms. Ehrbright
is often successful at getting clients Probation for Misdemeanors with little or no
jail, or at times even what is called Diversion in which a charge would not stay on
the Client’s permanent record.
There are several different ways to get charged with a misdemeanor in Arizona.
There is the old fashioned way of getting actually arrested, cuffed, and booked by
police. However you can also receive a Summons in the mail or simply be issued
a Ticket or Citation by Law Enforcement. If you have been given a ticket, look on
the right side and there will be boxes next to each Offense. If a box is checked that
says “Criminal” or “Criminal Traffic”- then you have been charged with a
Misdemeanor and it would be advised to contact an attorney to review your rights
under Arizona Law.
Jail time for Misdemeanor Offenses is usually served in County or City Jails. In
Maricopa County, it is common for people to serve a Misdemeanor Jail Sentence at
Sheriff Joe’s Tent City.
When self-surrendering in Maricopa County, it is usually done at a County
facility called Lower Buckeye Jail. At Lower Buckeye Jail, commonly called ‘LBJ’,
there is a parking lot that is specified just for defendants self surrendering. It is
possible with Misdemeanor Jail Sentences to qualify for Work Release where you
would be released from jail for up to 12 hours a day, 5 days a week to attend
work, school, doctors, etc. A qualified attorney can help facilitate Work Release for
you if you are charged with a Misdemeanor Offense in Arizona. Additionally,
many jurisdictions are now using House Arrest, or Home Detention, as a Jail
alternative to save both them and you money.